Death by chocolate

A few weeks ago, my secondary 2 clique got me a dark chocolate truffle cake from Royals cafe on my birthday. It was so darn good that I, despite not liking ganache, couldn’t stop. I would probably have bought the truffle cake instead of risking failure in the kitchen, but things are different now with a food blog.

Oh wait, why is there a feather on my egg?!

That’s not whipped cream, it’s 3 egg whites whipped with sugar!

While it was cooking, I toyed with the idea of doing a ganache. The recipe didn’t call for that, but I was afraid the cake would look plain. True enough, it turned out looking plain. But it was so, so, so decadent on the first bite, I knew the ganache had to go.

I was supposed to bake it in a round tin, but… you can’t cut off the sides to try without ruining a round cake! I had about 2 mouthfuls and then decided it was more than enough. Unless you’re a die-hard chocolate fan where repercussions are secondary, it’s hard to not feel guilty. It looks like a brownie, but the truffle has a melt-in-your-mouth texture. Or at least that was how it tasted a moment ago when it came out of the oven.

I’ll be bringing this for my food party with the Twitter mates tomorrow, hopefully Jonathan would take better pictures. Baking with an Iphone is very handy, but not when it comes to pictures. I’m getting sick of chocolates of any kind and I’m swearing it off for a month; good old plain sugar cookies are way better!

Tapawingo’s Chocolate Truffle Cake adapted from here

  • 85g dark chocolate couverture
  • 90g (or 80g if you find it too chocolaty) pure cocoa powder
  • 80ml water
  • 70g sugar
  • 125g soft butter, at room temperature
  • 3 egg whites
  • 6 oz (1 scant cup) sugar

1. Melt the dark chocolate couverture and combine it with the cocoa
2. Bring the water and the first amount of sugar to a boil.
3. Remove sugar water from the heat and pour it into the chocolate.
4. Add the butter, in small pieces, and stir until the chocolate is smooth.
5. Whip the egg whites with the second amount of sugar until they form soft peaks.
6. Gently fold the whipped egg whites into the chocolate mixture.
7. Pour the batter into a cake pan and bake it at 175C for about 25 min.

Note: The recipe here is 1/4 of the given original, with some changes to the amount of sugar. This yielded a relatively thin and small cake, so you might want to try doubling the recipe or baking in a smaller pan!

Leave a Reply

