Blueberry cream muffins

I was angry and bitter with the weather; it was disastrously hot this afternoon but had to rain just before my evening run Since I couldn’t go for my run and there was hardly any homework (I hope I’m right about this), what better place to head than the kitchen!

A little BB therapy goes a long way when your day ain’t going well. I wish I had a DSLR to capture better photos! The other day, I told Mavis that I had three fifty in my DSLR fund. “Three hundred and fifty?” “No, 3 dollars and 50 cents.”


I really love how good muffins smell! You open the oven door, and the aroma diffuses in a split second. My mum who was on the 2nd floor immediately went “Are you baking again?!” If I were to do badly for my A levels (I HOPE NOT), we would probably find chains and locks on the oven door.

It’s 10.40pm now and I’m getting hungry from looking at the photos! The muffins were moist, scrumptious and had the right level of sweetness. While they did taste good, my quest for the perfect BB muffin recipe is far from over!

Blueberry cream muffins, adapted from Taste of Home

  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup (minus some) vegetable oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sour cream or yogurt (I used 150g of Magnolia yogurt)
  • 1/2 cups blueberries
  1. Preheat the oven to 225°C.
  2. In a bowl, beat eggs. Gradually add sugar. While beating, slowly pour in oil; add vanilla.
  3. Combine dry ingredients; add alternately with the sour cream to the egg mixture. Gently fold in blueberries.
  4. Spoon into greased or lined muffin tins. Bake at 200°C for 20 minutes.

Yield: 6-8 muffins (I quartered the original recipe so I wouldn’t have to eat BB muffins for the next few days!)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dolly the donut
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 19:08:30

    I love muffins recipe containing yogurt! 😀 Haha, I wish you all the best in saving up for a DSLR. Jiayou for ‘A’s!!! (got facebook? haha)

    Reply

  2. thisbigcheese
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 21:21:08

    Yogurt is so much cheaper in Sg! Best of all you can eat the excess HAHA yay we’re friends on fb now haha!

    Reply

  3. Jonathan
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 21:54:32

    MUST BRING FOR ICE CREAM PARTY

    Reply

  4. thisbigcheese
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 21:58:57

    @Jonathan We need something more sinful for icecream party. Maybe peanut butter choc chip muffins!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

