PB choc chip muffins with cream cheese filling

I confess: I’m addicted to muffins! Everytime I go mad about something, I have to have it at least once a day. In primary school, it was fishballs drenched in chilli, then it was Subway, ThaiPan (almost every Victorian would rave about their butter squid) and now, muffins.

I used to synonmise muffins with cupcakes, associating them with sugar and air, so I never bothered having one. Last December, I had one of my first muffins on the airplane, and the second one in Melbourne.

Before you dismiss it as uninteresting, I have to tell you that SIA serves good food and of course, muffins.

And this, the first and best cranberry muffin I ever had. I got it at the cafe of some Koala park in Melbourne, and all I wanted to eat on the trip after that were muffins.

Some of the blueberry muffins I did the other day were under-baked (my friend said the centre tasted like mochi, so remember to keep to the full 20 minutes!), so I had to do some better muffins to make it up.

You do see some cream cheese peeking at you don’t you! My mum said the cheese was sour and didn’t complement the PB, but imho, cream cheese goes well with everything! Just make sure that the cream cheese batter is sweet enough and not sour, and I suppose it’ll taste good!

I reduced the amount of chocolate chips because I am truly and utterly sick of chocolate. So there you go, a few hidden morsels!

These muffins are like cups on sin, so you shouldn’t eat more than 1 in a seating or your butt and thighs will never forgive you! And for the record, I missed school today not to bake, but because I was genuinely unwell (okay, slightly unwell)!! Gonna maintain full attendance for the rest of this month, I promise!

Adapted from Sweetboybakes (halved recipe)

Ingredients
2 1/4 cups of all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup + 1 tbsp brown sugar
40g butter, melted and cooled
1/2 cup peanut butter (crunchy or smooth)
2 eggs
1 cups of milk
1/2 cups chocolate chips

90g cream cheese, softened
1 tbsp sugar (don’t stinge here make sure the batter is sweet!)
1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions
Preheat oven to 190C. Line muffin tin with paper liners.
In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and brown sugar.
In a medium bowl, whisk together the melted butter, peanut butter, eggs and milk until smooth.
Pour into flour mixture and stir until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

Cream the cheese together with sugar and vanilla and set aside.

Divide batter into the paper lined muffin tin. Fill the cup halfway with muffin batter, add in a dollop of the cream cheese mixtue, and then fill it to the top with muffin batter. Each cup should be filled to the top, not just half way up, to ensure you get a nice dome on the muffin.
Bake for 17-20 minutes, until a tester comes out clean and the top of the muffin springs back when lightly pressed.
Cool on a wire rack.

Makes 6 large muffins.

(I got 11 medium sized muffins despite halving the recipe. Better this way than eating jumbo sized muffins and then wallowing in guilt!!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cheryl@watchmebake.blogspot.com
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 13:02:06

    hi fellow student baker from sg! hahah i love sia’s muffins too! tried their banana one last time and it was bliss. interesting combi of cream cheese pb and choc hahah

    Reply

  2. thisbigcheese
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 14:24:05

    Hello cheryl! Yes sia muffins are so good! Haha yea quite sinful though I think I’m having a sorethroat now cause I ate 2 yesterday and one for breakfast this morning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

