Cardinal sin: Durian buttercream cake

Instead of doing my evening run last night, I was in the kitchen licking durian buttercream.  If I hadn’t promised Dad a durian cake when he returned from his trip, I wouldn’t have attempted a layer cake that soon. True enough, the sponge layers were terribly uneven, but taste wise… divine. This cake may not cater to western palate, but if you love durians, you have to try this out!

I warned my Dad that it wasn’t anywhere near healthy, but he polished off the entire slice for breakfast this morning. The durian flavour was very intense, but I personally would have liked it to be very, very, very intense haha! And check out the durian fibers! Unless you blend the durian flesh into pulp, the fibers will get entangled in your whisk. It’s okay, you can always wrestle it out with a fork like I did.

It was virtually impossible to remove the entire chunk of flesh from the seed, so whatever that wouldn’t come off went straight into my mouth! Because of the durian, it’s even more expensive to bake this than a cheesecake.

The sponge itself tasted so good warm, I couldn’t help but pinch a little. God knows how many calories I consumed in the process of making the cake!!

This was after I covered the cake with durian cream last night. I didn’t have a lazy susan turntable or offset spatula, so I had to make do a normal spatula and uh… chopping board. My mum laughed and said it looked like shit At least it tasted good!

Terrible layering but the copious amount of durian made up for it! I halved the sponge recipe but used 2/3 of the buttercream, can’t be stingy when it comes to durian nom nom nom! The amount of butter the buttercream recipe called for scared the bejesus out of me, so I reduced it from 200g to 150g. Even then, I could still taste a hint of the butter when the cake was still warm I really, really hate buttercream, whipped cream or any cream that greases my mouth. Fortunately, I could barely taste the butter after chilling it overnight. Unfortunately, I know it’s still there. The next time I make this, which I definitely will if time permits, I’ll reduce the butter even further and chuck in even more flesh! It’s gonna be a close-to-pure durian cake, and not durian buttercream!

Durian buttercream cake, adapted from Hungerhunger

Basic Sponge Cake

A ingredients:
90g fine cake flour
1/2 t double-action baking powder
3 egg yolks
45 ml veg oil
30g fine sugar
70 ml milk or low-fat milk

B ingredients:
3 egg whites
30g fine sugar
1/8 t lemon juice

1. Oven at 160 C. Get ready a 10″ or 11″ round tin (I used a smaller rectangle tin because I halved the recipe). Sieve flour and baking powder together.

2. Whisk A ingredients together with a hand whisk till well-mixed.

3. Beat B ingredients till stiff.

4. Pour A into B and, using your hand, fold to mix well quickly. Using your hands will ensure better mixing but it needs a bit of practice. Pour into cake tin, level the batter.

5. Bake in middle of oven for 45 min. or till wooden skewer tested in the middle of the cake comes out clean. Turn cake over upside down, with a board under, and leave it to cool. This ‘hanging’ method will ensure the cake will not sit on its own weight when it cools, so it’ll remain light. If the cake is done well, it will not drop out of the tin.

Durian Meringue Buttercream

Note: I made a lot of changes here by decreasing the sugar and butter and increasing the durian flesh. If you prefer a more buttery taste with lesser durian intensity, you might wanna check out the original recipe.

2 egg whites
75g fine sugar
120g butter
300g durian flesh (sieve, blend, or just mash it like I did)

1. Put egg whites and sugar into a metal bowl over a pot of simmering water and stir well. The sugar will melt and the mixture will become frothy and white. Remove and, using a machine, whisk till it’s thick and glossy.

2. Add the butter by the spoonful beating till well-combined with the egg whites.

3. Lastly add mashed durian flesh and mix well.

To assemble the cake:

1. When cake is cool, cut into thin 1 cm layers. This is easier done if you cut the cake into smaller pieces first, then layer each piece.

3. Sandwich the sponge layers with the durian buttercream and cover the whole cake with the durian buttercream. Chill, but take out about 15 min. before serving.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. culinary19
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 22:28:37

    Looks tasty.. How did you do the cutting of the sponge? just curious..

    Reply

  2. Cherine
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 22:45:55

    @culinary19 I cut it while it was still warm (guess I was too eager eh). Pressed slightly on the top and then did the slicing. Guess I still have a lot to learn! I dropped by your blog, and saw that you’re going to France? Lucky you! I wish I had the chance too, instead of being stuck in school. All the best to you! :>

    Reply

    • culinary19
      Apr 19, 2010 @ 22:57:37

      That was a fast reply, with serrated knife?
      I’m actually IN France now. For internship anyway. It just sounds good becoz it’s France. But thanks anyway.
      School’s pretty good la, in some ways, rather than work. Anyway, hope to read more about your baking soon, you seem pretty passionate about it.. which is great.!!

      Personally, more interested in the pastry/baking aspects of the kitchen too. Just haven got much chance to explore things..

      Reply

  3. Cherine
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 00:04:47

    Haha I’m almost forever online because of my Iphone! It’s supposedly a bread knife I suppose. How’s it there in France? And you’re studying pastry eh? My parents want me to complete my As then go to uni before I can pursue baking oh well. Yea I really do like baking a lot, cooking also. Used to miss school once a week to bake haha! Post pictures of France and the kitchen you’re working in if you get a chance? 🙂

    Reply

  4. culinary19
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 05:24:00

    Oh no wonder you reply so fast, always connected eh.. Do study hard though..
    France’s pretty nice and all, but becoz it’s work, tiring and basically I’m helping out in the kitchen of a hotel, doing service. Doing anything that needs doing but is minor for the other regular chefs to do. But I dun really like it, becoz the Chef(the boss) is often pretty angry at service due to his own high expectations. So I dun like the atmosphere of it, to me it should be happier.
    But I’m not studying pastry specifically.. A culinary diploma actually.
    May wanna go more into pastry/baking in future.. see how things pan out..
    But i think baking and cooking as interest is different from career..(unless you are your own boss)
    Missing school is kinda extreme ah. But that the ‘norm’ right, A levels and then Uni. But with such an interest, what kinda course are you gonna pursue in Uni?
    For pictures, ‘ll try to post them up the blog soon then(only left some on fb), coz mondays are my off days and usual days, too busy with work. whole day with 2 hours break in between. Maybe post of the pastries at the shops here and what the restaurant produces…

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Raspberry Cream Cheese Buns « Putting on my baking hat ∆

Leave a Reply

