Thick and chewy chocolate chip cookies

I hate how ugly my cookies are!! It’s time to invest in better brown sugar. The recipe called for melted butter but I was too chicken to use that, lest I ended up with a greasy puddle. My cookie ended up being thicker in the middle, and not very chewy 😦 I’m gonna try it out with melted butter again. Think my dad’s gonna flip when the electricity bill comes this month.


Taste wise, they were quite good, but not yet perfect! My best choc chip cookies thus far are the ones made using William Sonoma’s recipe, and with nuts! Those are crunchy, but absolutely divine. I’ll have to continue hunting for the perfect chewy choc chip cookie recipe, something that will yield cookies similar to that of Subway’s! That probably involves a lot of butter and sugar, so I’ll have to make them after my Napfa test!

Next up on the list,

Dulce de leche cheesecake bars!
Carrot cupcakes!
Compost cupcakes!

Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies, adapted from Watch Me Bake

1 and 1/16 cups self-raising flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
80g melted and cooled unsalted butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 caster sugar (granulated is fine too)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips/chunks (semi or bittersweet)

1. Preheat oven to 165°C and line 2 baking trays with baking/parchment papers.

2. Mix flour and salt together in a bowl and set aside.

3. Beat butter and sugars together until thoroughly incorporated. Mix in the egg yolk, white and vanilla extract.

4. Gently mix the flour mixture into the butter mixture until just combined.

5. Stir in the chocolate chips/chunks. Add in any other nuts or berries you want (optional) at this stage.

6. Drop the cookie dough onto the baking trays with about 3″ spacing (the cookies will expand a little). Bake the cookies for 13-15 min or until the cookies are light golden brown and the edges start to harden. The cookie centers should be still soft and puffy to ensure the cookies are chewy. Do not overbake!! If dough is frozen, the cookies would require another extra 1-2 min baking time.

7. Cool the cookies on the tray. Serve as is or store in an airtight container. Cookies are best eaten after cooling or when they are still semi-warm.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. baking&love
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 00:48:59

    Haha I think your cookies are pretty. Its’ just the camera (lah!) Whose recipe did you use? Eh I recently found out that actually you must watch the baking time. If you over-baked it, confirm won’t chewy one!! Usually a recipe say bake for 12-15. I will start checking the cookie at 8-10minutes already. Cause different ovens work differently. And you like flat cookies is it? A cookie is taller in the center is (from what I experienced) because the sugar you use is granulated/coarse sugar??? They melt less easily as compared to caster sugar that’s why they don’t spread out thinly.

    Reply

  2. Cherine
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 12:12:12

    I used the thick chewy recipe frm watchmebake.bs! Was in a rush last night so I forgot to post the recipe haha. Do the cookies become cakey when you overbake! Cause mine always turn out tt way 😦 oh I didn’t know caster sugar causes a flatter cookie! Yea I wanted something like subway’s haha. Think I’ll head for the supermarket after school LOL

    Reply

  3. baking&love
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 23:40:18

    Oh.. That’s what I think. Brownies also. Because it’s like I see other ppl and me using the same recipes, they get something so different from mine.

    Anyway this recipe, quite obviously wont be very chewy or soft. You look at the amount of butter used you know already… By ratio 80g is like really very very little. Those I use can be 226g when there is also only one egg in the recipe.

    Reply

  4. Cherine
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 21:08:14

    Actually I was supposed to add half an egg yolk but then it’s like quite impossible to do half an egg yolk so I just skipped it oops. I was intending to try this again, but thanks for telling me, so I can move on to another recipe haha! Your analytical skills quite zai ah ^^ Seems more useful than the stuff I learn in JC!!

    Reply

  5. dolly the donut
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 23:19:01

    Oh. You mean 1 egg + 1/2 yolk?? What a weird recipe! Np. Haha. I draw tables to do the comparison with different recipes (during lectures 😉 I MEAN LAST TIME. LOL.)

    It’s actually economics – ceteris paribus. *Aya* I don’t know how to use the word in a sentence. LOL. But I mean it like, I just use one ingredient as a constant for all the recipes. So in my table if 226g (1cup) of butter is used, then x g of flour, x g of sugar, x # of egg is used for all the recipes.

    Can kill time, like REALLY man. LOL!

    Reply

  6. BakingDecorations
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 10:37:42

    Your cookies look great! I have a recipe with vanilla pudding powder which is yummy. I also never bake it all the minutes the recipe calls for. Just love chewy cookies…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

