Green tea white choc macarons.


Unfortunately, these didn’t taste as good as the ones I made on Saturday during lesson at Bakincalf 😦 I suppose they are passable for a first unguided attempt, but there’s a lot of room for improvement. I have no idea why my white chocolate ganache looked and tasted like condensed milk. That’s quite frustrating since I spent $5.50 on the ganache ingredients while condensed milk is way lot cheaper… I hope they do turn out better tomorrow morning.

When the class did the baking on Saturday, we only had to wait 30 minutes for the shells to form before we popped them into the oven. I had to wait two whole hours before a barely passable shell formed. It could be because the eggs were too cold, or that there was excessive moisture in the air (I read somewhere that it affects, I don’t know). Not to mention that the weather has been a bitch recently, jumping from scorching hot to pouring rain throughout the day.

My second attempt with the piping bag, so please cut me some slack!

I suppose this happens due to under-baking. The second batch wasn’t that bad, but it wasn’t clean either. They were kinda over chewy, but I read that macarons taste better on day 2. I hope so!

You know what, I actually ate 3 bloody macarons after 10pm! There goes the run I did today and I’m gonna do a 100 sit ups now to make up for that. I can’t believe that I’m baking and munching away when I have my A level Chemistry SPA tomorrow. After Wednesday, the only experiment I’ll ever carry out again is baking! I will, will, will master these some day!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Culinary19
    May 17, 2010 @ 23:39:52

    Think the piping’s pretty even alr…

    100 sit ups for 2 macarons? Sounds like a pretty uneven trade-off.. lol

    Reply

  2. Cherine
    May 17, 2010 @ 23:49:06

    I think even 500 wouldn’t cover 3 macarons! All the whipping cream and chocolate in the ganache hmm.

    Reply

  3. Culinary19
    May 18, 2010 @ 22:43:32

    lol.. That’s an interesting way to measure cream and chocolates, with sit ups..

    That makes me REALLY start to think about my core diet of ice cream and chocolates here in France.

    That’s just abt most of the fun I get actually, eating chocolates and ice cream..
    Starting to really WANT to get home already..Still got months to go though..

    Reply

    • Cherine
      May 19, 2010 @ 06:49:50

      Haha it’s different when you’re there, gotta enjoy the good food while you can! They have ice cream almost everywhere in France? And have you tried their macarons!

      Home sickness starting to kick in already eh 😦 how’s work and the living environment over there?

      Reply

      • Culinary19
        May 19, 2010 @ 21:40:47

        The good food are all in restaurants with ‘great’ prices too.. lol,ice cream quite readily available la, there’s an ice cream parlour right near where I live, then just eat alot buying from the supermarkets etc.
        Not really their macarons, but yes to their pastries etc at the patisseries here, and yes they have like 4/5 patisseries just near where i live.
        yes, it’s kicking in pretty bad.. Living is bearable, but work just makes things tiring, thus will miss home and miss slacking at home even more..But ya, just several more months to go.. Relieve stress eating lol.that’s partly why so much ice cream and chocs ah.

        Saw the comments below too, there must be many queuing to be your tester la lol..

      • Culinary19
        May 20, 2010 @ 05:15:49

        Just after I typed that, I went searching for macarons, but the pastry shops today are not making it..
        THEN, I realised the desserts I was making in the restaurant involved macarons.. lol..

    • Cherine
      May 20, 2010 @ 20:29:53

      You mean the actually choose days to make macarons?! I hope work isn’t killing your passion for baking! I was always afraid that my hobby would turn into a chore if I spent too much time on it…

      Reply

      • Culinary19
        May 20, 2010 @ 21:40:17

        I guess so, some days there are, some there aren’t? Either that or it’s all sold out by the time i got there.. Think it’s the former though.

        Hmm, I think restaurant service’s just now for me probably? I don’t see that happening for you though, spending much time and ‘work’ is very different I guess..

  4. Elizabeth
    May 18, 2010 @ 23:06:49

    I wish I had a boyfriend like you HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Reply

  5. dolly the donut
    May 24, 2010 @ 00:31:51

    Hey, nice macarons. Love their colors HAHA! You paid 98 for this class? THAT IS A LOT OF MONEY. LOL

    Reply

    • Cherine
      May 25, 2010 @ 21:52:54

      Actually, it’s 88! But you’re right, it’s still a lot of money now that I think of it! I hope I don’t lose my macaron skills!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

