White choc cranberry oatmeal cookies

I had 5 of these for diner despite my cough, flu and impending fever. They were delightfully sweet, but it came from the cranberries and white chocolate. I love the way white chocolate complements all berries, a balance which neither milk nor dark chocolate can match up to.

The cookies were a little soft, but not chewy in the way I wanted them to be. I’m always at the 2 extreme spectral ends; they’re either crunchy (I like crunchy!) or cake-like soft. If only I could make cookies like the ones sold at Subway. Somebody, teach me? 🙂

I wanted a hint of citrus, so I prepared some orange zest which I absent-mindedly left out while making the batter. The white chips from Phoon Huat were also too minuscule to be savoured. What a pity… BUT STILL, despite my little mistakes, they were awesome. Next time round, I’ll remember the zest and use Ghirardelli white chips. It’s so hard to find quality ingredients in Singapore. Some niche supermarkets carry the more interesting ingredients, but price wise… If I could go to Australia again, I’ll ship a truckload of chocolate and cream cheese back!

And when time and money permits, I’ll start investing in some food props.

White chocolate cranberry oatmeal cookies, from The Green Wife

  • 1 cup  butter, softened
  • 3/4 c  brown sugar
  • 1/4 c  white sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 c  flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp  baking soda
  • 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 2 cups  quick oats
  • 1 1/4 cup  white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 or 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • Preheat oven to 175C.
  • Put water on to boil.
  • Mix butter, brown & white sugars and vanilla thorougly.  Add in flour and salt.  Mix.
  • Dissolve baking soda in boiling water and mix into dough.
  • Mix in oats, white chocolate and cranberries.
  • The dough will be thick and not gooey.  Form into 1 1/2″ balls and put on parchment paper.
  • Bake for 9-11 minutes.
  • Gorge yourself.
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Culinary19
    May 26, 2010 @ 06:38:15

    Kinda missing the point of the post but, what kinda food props you thinking of getting eh..?

    Reply

    • Cherine
      May 26, 2010 @ 08:23:00

      Maybe a two tier cake stand for muffins and small decorative boxes that most food bloggers photograph their cookies in! I’m not sure if I can term them as food props, which are more of fake plastic food, but you get my drift! 🙂

      Reply

      • Culinary19
        Jun 01, 2010 @ 02:51:36

        Erm, any idea why you put the baking soda in boiling water to add into the dough?

      • Cherine
        Jun 02, 2010 @ 15:00:23

        Nope I have no idea either! Do you know if it’ll affect the texture?

      • Culinary19
        Jun 02, 2010 @ 21:58:20

        Not sure abt that, just never really saw this baking soda/boiling water step eh.. You did that? lol.
        Anyway, I’m THINKING, texture has to do with creaming or proportions only??

        Mind giving your email add/over email or something,so I probably can get back to you more abt the texture issues..

      • Cherine
        Jun 03, 2010 @ 12:02:33

        Yup I’ve never seen this method either. I always thought texture had to do with the amount and temp of the butter. Cherine_teh@hotmail.com. Thanks you’re really sweet and helpful! Add me on fb too 🙂

  2. dolly the donut
    May 26, 2010 @ 09:16:01

    HAHA sounds cool. Are you coping well in JC? I’m actually very amazed at how much time you have to bake!!!

    Reply

    • Cherine
      Jun 03, 2010 @ 12:01:03

      Holidays now so I’m pretty free when I’m not studying! 🙂 but have to cut down on baking now, expensive and time consuming. You seem to be having fun in ny!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

