Corn muffins

I’ve been too busy with World Cup and exams to bake for the past 2 months (okay more of World cup!), but I’m back now with corn muffins. I’ve been wanting to make them ever since I had them at Kenny Rogers on Sheena’s birthday. It’s supposedly a duplicate recipe of the ones you get at Kenny Rogers, but they taste a little different. The honey taste here is quite dominant, but I guess that depends on the kind of honey you use too.

2 months away from the oven and I think I’ve lost some of my mojo for baking 😦 Made a few little mistakes here and there, and I wasn’t all that excited about stepping into the kitchen. Gotta get back on track soon or my dream of opening a bakery will go up in smoke. There’s only a 100 more days to the A’s, but I reckon there’s still the long break next year for me to get things right :> For now, it’s back to the books 😎

Recipe from Food.com

1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar (I used 1/2 cup)
1/4 cup honey
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cornmeal
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup milk
3/4 cup frozen corn

  • Preheat oven to 400F/205C.
  • Mix butter, sugar, honey, eggs, and salt into a large bowl
  • Add flour, cornmeal, and baking powder and blend thoroughly
  • Add milk while mixing
  • Add corn to mixture and work into mixture
  • Do not mash corn, the whole kernel is baked into the muffin
  • Fill a muffin pan with 12 paper/foil muffin cups and fill 2/3 full with batter
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes until muffins are light brown
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave oven repairs man
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 06:54:16

    Sounds and looks good to me, all the best with your dream of opening a bakery

    Reply

  2. culi19
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 00:21:55

    No baking till after exams??
    Btw,you’re part of Team Sajc? coincidentally saw you on bus earlier..

    Reply

    • Cherine
      Oct 03, 2010 @ 01:07:00

      I just ended my prelims but As are in 30+ days! Haha nope just that I go down to SA to study with my friend that’s why. What a small world anyway! Which bus did you see me on?

      Reply

  3. culi19
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 10:46:43

    It’s probably just Sg which’s small… Bus 5

    Reply

Leave a Reply

